Blurt - Poppycock

  • szt.
  • Net Price: €10.21 €12.56

Dostępna od 12.04.2019

Blurt was founded in Stroud, UK, in 1979 as part of the post-punk movement by poet, saxophonist und puppeteer Ted Milton along with Milton's brother Jake, formerly of psychedelic group Quintessence, on drums and Peter Creese on guitar. After three albums Creese left the band to be replaced by Herman Martin on synthesizers who, after a year of constant touring left the band, and was replaced by Steve Eagles, former member of Satan's Rats, The Photos and Bang Bang Machine. Shortly thereafter Jake Milton left to be replaced by Nic Murcott, who was subsequently replaced by Paul Wigens. Most of Blurt's compositions feature simple, repetitive, minimalistic guitar and/or saxophone phrases, but they can also explore more abstract musical territories, often serving as an atmospheric backdrop for Ted Milton's existentialist poetry. The music has been described as dada-avantgarde-jazz or paranoid jazz-mutant funk. Practically impossible to pigeonhole. Poppycock was released on the band's own Toeblock label in 1986 and features song classics such as 'Man To Fly' and 'Down In The Argentine'. The album was remastered for CD by Martin Bowes of Attrition.

1 Poppycock 4:18
2 Smug Hills 1:37
3 Man To Fly 3:07
4 The Flags 3:54
5 Domain Of Dreams 6:45
6 Down In The Argentine 3:17
7 Hurrah, Die Butter Ist Alle! 2:00
8 Niagara Falls 0:32