FRET - Over Depth [vinyl 2LP 180g + Downloadcode]

  • Add feedback:
  • Manufacturer: Karlrecords
  • Availability: Out of stock / but available to order
  • szt.
  • Net Price: EUR 22.15 EUR 27.25

1. Lift Method 05:38
2. The Waiting Room 06:48
3. Meadow Taken Back 05:53
4. Murderous Weight 05:30
5. LO30 05:40
6. Stuck In The Track At Salford Priors 04:57
7. Etched Beaked Point 05:12
8. Lifford Res 05:45
9. B14 05:15
10. No Rain 05:42
MICK HARRIS (SCORN, QUOIT, PAINKILLER) returns after several years of hiatus with ten tracks of blasting landmine bass and interlocking shrapnel rhythms.

I’ve been asked to write a press piece for the dark lord MICK HARRIS.

Where does one even start? Especially for someone with decades of releases over various solo projects, collaborations and pseudonyms, whether it’s doing blast beats in the original NAPALM DEATH to crushing techno brutality as MONRELLA, or savage drum & bass as QUOIT. Then of course there’s the mighty SCORN and his numerous collaborations with fellow luminaries such as JOHN ZORN and BILL LASWELL (in PAINKILLER).

Rather than being tied to genres or scenes, MICK HARRIS is one of those producers who creates a whole sonic world uniquely of his own, in which varying tracks, styles and tempos take form, but yet in which everything sounds unmistakably characteristic of the creator. Needless to say his work has influenced legions of producers like SURGEON, REGIS, ONTAL, VATICAN SHADOW / PRURIENT, FAUSTEN, SHAPEDNOISE et al, and pretty much anyone in the world of powerfully dark, abrasive music you could name-drop. And yet after all this time, it is impressive that HARRIS still...  more
released October 13, 2017

mastered & cut by Rashad Becker, D&M Berlin.