Knuckleduster - Nuukoono

  • Add feedback:
  • Manufacturer: Gusstaff
  • Availability: Available
  • szt.
  • Net Price: EUR 2.90 EUR 9.29 EUR 3.57

Knuckleduster, the trans-atlantic collaboration of electronica/sound artist Robert Lippok (Germany) and trans-cultural pioneer Debashis Sinha (Canada/India) began through a mutual fascination with sound and sound production. Based on long discussions in Toronto, Berlin, and via internet, Lippok and Sinha created a foundation for music making based on the respect of each other’s work. Their first collaboration, a live concert in Toronto in 2007, went so well that they decided to make the duo a continuing international performance project. Their first CD, Nuukoono, was recorded in Berlin at the famous Studio P4 and at Studio Bleibel by Bernd Jestram of Tarwater.

 Robert Lippok is on the bleeding edge of the Berlin minimal electronic scene with releases on some of the most innovative labels in existence today. He is a founding member of To Rococo Rot, now twelve years old and internationally known, bringing conceptual art, installation, and improvisation to the post-rock scene, refining and perfecting their concept of instant composition. As a solo artist, he has created sound installations and performed internationally, releasing recordings to critical acclaim on the Monika, Staubgold and Raster-Noton labels.

 Debashis Sinha has been involved with the world music scene in Canada for over 10 years, garnering multiple Juno nominations along the way. Deeply trained in traditional rhythmic systems from various cultures, Sinha has begun to turn to the world of improvisation and sound art to further explore his traditional percussion instruments. Through questioning the context of world music, he has found a voice that uses traditional techniques coupled with extended techniques of western improvisation and electronics.


 Tracklisting (click to listen the tracks):

01. The Animal Dream

02. Curve

03. A Spirit They Saw

04. That Which Hums in Your Skin

05. Meteorite

06. Marigold

07. Night Call

08. Sequence

09. Dark Loop

10. Tvil

11. Im Spiegel