Cut In The Hill Gang - Mean Black Cat

  • szt.
  • Net Price: €5.54 €11.53 €6.82
Drugi, pełny album dzikiej kapeli z Ohio, tym razem pełen wyśmienitych coverów.

Second full length by Cincinnati, Ohio based outfit fronted by ex-Soledad Brothers leader Johnny Walker (vocals, harmonica, guitar, bass). Just prior to these sessions the core trio of Walker, Lance Kaufman (vocals, drums) and Reuben Glaser (guitar, vocals) added a fourth member to the line-up: John Wesley (keyboards, vocals), in real life the gravel-voiced/keyboard-playing main attraction in The Black Diamond Heavies. Wesley was present on all recording sessions and will tour with the band in November.

When Cut In The Hill Gang released their Hats Off Boogie 7” (on Stag-O-Lee, of course) in spring 2010 it was a tribute to all their favorite bluesmen – from John Lee Hooker to Dr. Ross. A new longplayer needed to be recorded and the original idea was to re-record Hats Off Boogie, write a couple of new originals and cover at least 50 % of blues tunes – shredded Cut In The Hill gang-style of course. And instead of the sprawling 18 song Hung Up/Cut Down debut album the Stag-O-Lee head honcho demanded a concise 40-minute kick in the teeth, kinda like early Stooges backing a Benzedrine-damaged Howlin’ Wolf.

In the end Mean Black Cat (a track that was recorded, but is not on the album) is 20 seconds over time. And an all covers record. And still the kick in the teeth Stag-O-Lee asked for.

1) Dont Ever Leave Your Daddy At Home (Frank Frost)
2) Help Me (Traditional/Lula Collins)
3) Please Give Somethin’ (Bill Allen)
4) I Wanna Holler (Gary US Bonds)
5) Let’s Get Funky/Black To Comm (Hound Dog Taylor/MC5)
6) Serves Me Right To Suffer (Hooker)
7) Come On Home (Louis "Blues Boy" Jones)
8) The Right To Love You (James T Shaw Aka The Mighty Hannibal)
9) Fuck The People/Revolution (Kills/Spacemen 3)
10) Promise Me (Jeffrey Lee Pierce)