Brain Damage - Ya No Mas [vinyl]

  • Dodaj recenzję:
  • Producent: Jarring Effects
  • Dostępność: Jest
  • szt.
  • Cena netto: 69,11 zł 85,00 zł

Płyta dostępna od 24.06.2019

In 2016, on Frederic Piguillan’s initiative, Brain Damage, for the first time, performs in Colombia as part of the Télérama Dub Festival. On site, the meeting with Gatos Negros will be determining. For many years, with an endless dedication, Macky Ruff and La Gaitana, surrounded by budding artist or legendary figure as well as many social- cultural participants, the collective intervened daily in some of forgotten district in Bogotá. This intervention concerns the youth who was discredited though constituting an important part of the population. A communal creation borns, and with some of atypical local artist, they make fruitful recording session.

One year later, Martin Nathan with the support of Jarring Effects goes back on the spot during the year France-Colombia. His idea is to lead with success the project, far to the limelight. The photographer, Romain Etienne from the Lyon collective, Items goes with him and they make an original and a subtle image result. New meeting happened during marathon recording session, to complete a dream team.

In the recording studio, a lot of pioneers comes on after another, like Javier Alerta Kamarada and Kontent Thug, who both brought to Colombia for the first time Reggae music and Hip Hop music in the 1990’s. Also Jimena Angel, pop icon with a voice word class, passionated of traditional song along with Macky Ruff and La Gaitana who came from militant anthem.
Thanks to this raw material, Martin Nathan finalized the project in his studio. As usual, the result is an unexpected. Far from the current trend of the reggae and dub music but also from the cliché electro-cumbia, this a mix of reggae and dub actual trend but also spread through by Anglo- Saxon influence but far to the cliché electro-cumbia springing up for few years. This 14th album of Brain Damage is against the flow as always. Between Latino tune falsely lo-fi, unlikely fusion of digital technical and centenary tradition. and a neat esthetic which spotlights raw and protesting lyrics. All ingredients are presents for a UFO and a new unique album, who shows the contrast between cultural richness of a country and reality of a daily.
released October 19, 2018

Lyrics & vocals written and performed by :
Jimena Angel, Javier Fonseca, Kontent Thug, Pablo "one2" Araoz, Macky Ruff & La Gataina.

Music written and performed by :
Martin Nathan, José Miguel Vega Ch. aka El Profe, Niko Yembe, Nicholf David Nicoyembe Rodriguez, Jesse Kabaro, Antonio Jíménez aka Wilmar Millo, Gerardo Ramírez, Hernando "Ernie beat" Becerra, Céline Frezza.

Recorded by Nicolas Matagrin and Martin Nathan at One2 records studio & La Ñ Studio /Bogotá and JFX Studio / Lyon. Mastering by Brice Marin and mixed by Martin Nathan @ JFX Studio.

1. Sin Violencia 00:54
2. Ciruela Feat Jimena Angel 02:36
3. Óyelo Feat Jimena Angel 01:35
4. El Control Feat. Javier Fonseca 02:23
5. Andar Feat Cumbia Rockers All Stars & Pablo "One2" Araoz 04:30
6. Luna Llena Feat. Jimena Angel 04:23
7. Zumba que Zumba 01:20
8. ¡Ya No Más! Feat. Kontent Thug & Macky Ruff 04:11
9. Afrika - Kaliente Feat. Javier Fonseca 04:02
10. Muy Fácil 01:08
11. Dolores Feat. Jimena Angel 04:14
12. Lloran Feat. Javier Fonseca 03:58
13. Mi Voz Feat. Macky Ruff & La Gaitana 03:13
14. Terrible 02:46