KutiMangoes, The - Afro-Fire [vinyl+downloadcode]

  • Dostępność: Brak / Na zamówienie
  • Producent: Tramp Records
  • Cena brutto: 75,00 zł
  • (Cena netto: 60,98 zł)
  • szt.
  • Poleć produkt

This may sound like an Afro-Orchestra, but for sure not like a sextet, which The KutiMangoes actually are! Compact arrangements with extremely blazing horns, especially from the baritone sax and the trombone. Nonetheless it is still not overwhelming, because everything is accompanied by a carefully counterbalanced easiness, beautifully recorded for the album Afro-Fire.

The KutiMangoes don't focus on being highly authentic, which might present it's difficulties, seeing as the are a union of Northern Europeans and West Africans. The sax player and band leader Michael Blicher regularly plays in a trio with the New Yorker god of groove Steve Gadd and composes for string quartets, movies and for this Band. A wonderful eclectical blend of Afro beat, Jazz, Soul and a little Blues.

This blend combines and contains the soul of Fela Kuti, the delusional arrangements from Charles Mingus (title "Moanin") and the uncompromising drive from Ornette Coleman's "Body Meta" - supported by Patrick Kabrefrom Burkina Faso, who adds the final dose of feeling to the beats with his voice. Three brass players, two drummers and a man at the keys skillfully switch between the instruments.

The band consists of:

Gustav Rasmussen (tb, g), Lars Greve (sax), Michael Blicher (sax), Johannes Buhl (key), Casper Mikkelsen (perc), Morten Ærø (dr)


1 Fire [clip]
2 Feeling Good [clip]
3 Something Yellow [clip]
4 Song for Fela (Remix) [clip]
5 Moanin' [clip]
6 Song for Fela [clip]
7 Walking Man [clip]
8 Pass It On [clip]