Hildur Gudnadottir - Mount A

  • Dodaj recenzję:
  • Producent: Touch
  • Dostępność: Wyprzedane

Pierwszy album wiolonczelistki z Islandii, lecz wydana przez Touch jako druga. Wcześniej Hildur nagrywała m.in. z takimi artystami jak: Angel (Editions Mego), Jóhann Jóhannssonem, Nico Muhly, Pan Sonic, Múm, BJ Nilsen i Stilluppsteypa (dla sublabelu Staubgold, Quecksilbera). Poprzednia solowa płyta "Mount A" nagrywana była podczas mrocznych zimowych wieczorów, "Without Sinking" natomiast zainspirowana została podróżami lotniczymi Hildur, podczas tras koncertowych w 2007 i 2008 r., a materiał zarejestrowany został podczas lata 2008 r. w Berlinie.

This album was originally released by 12 Tónar in 2006 under the moniker 'Lost in Hildurness'. The first solo recording from Hildur Guðnadóttir (who is a member of the Nix Noltes band and has performed regularly with múm and Pan Sonic). In her dreamy soundworld she plays the cello, gamba, zither, khuur and the gamelan so this cd sounds like nothing else. This is exciting, tranquil, and melancholic stuff and at times it makes you think of a lost place and times gone by - and the music has the power to take you there. Recording sessions took place both in New York and in a house in Hólar, Iceland, specifically chosen for its good cello acoustics. It is strictly a solo album, Hildur has attempted to "involve other people as little as I could." Like the cover art, it is personal and intimate.

It has been called "the perfect soundtrack to get lost in a forest at night", but this version, remastered by Denis Blackham, sounds fresher and better than ever.


1 Light 4:18     
2 Floods 3:29     
3 Casting 6:35     
4 Shadowed 2:22     
5 Self 6:37     
6 Growth 3:36     
7 In Gray 3:23     
8 My 2:37     
9 Reflection 7:31     
10 Earbraces 3:28     
11 You 10:07